Trailer Parks
Launches

Quinte Fishing

Fishing Reports for the Bay of Quinte
It is currently Tue Apr 23, 2024 2:00 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2011 7:07 am 
Walleye

Good day all. This is my first post as a newby to this forum. I am relatively new to ice fishing in Ontario. We recently moved here from Alberta. I've been following your posts, paying particular attention to the ice reports. I had fished on the ice out West a couple times, but never considered the necessity to wear a survival suit. Once you get past October, the extreme cold temps there ensured save ice travel, usually ice more than a meter thick until the end of April.

Now here in Ontario with the warm temperatures, I can see why there is a lot of concern about wearing one of those suits. I have been looking at the different makes, but I have no knowledge as to which is the better one to go with. I'm thinking a one piece suit would be best. What do you experts have to say? Who makes the best one?

Dave

PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2011 7:23 am 
Walleye Master

there is a few ways to look at that so there is a few ways to answer the question I guess.... Mustang is one of the leaders ut saying that they all carry a coast guard raiting to be approved and must meet that standard............ I guess there is a reason why one is more expensive over another lostly construction and durability one will definatly last longer than lets say a cheaper one but they are all subject to rips and tears depending on how you use or take care of them.