Launches

Quinte Fishing

Fishing Reports for the Bay of Quinte
It is currently Sat Sep 28, 2024 4:23 am
banner ad

All times are UTC - 5 hours

PostPosted: Sat Dec 14, 2013 3:07 pm 
Walleye

So, in my quest for more holes with less effort and not wanting to carry a lot of weight I have decided to pick up one of this ice auger drill attachment thingies from Canadian Tire. 9.99.. I have an older Eskimo gas auger but its heavy and bulky and I really only drill 2 holes each time I am out.

Anyone have experience with these? I have an 8" swede bore and a Mastercraft 18V hammer drill/drill with 2 decent batteries. Just wondering how many holes I can expect to drill with this on the batteries?

PostPosted: Sat Dec 14, 2013 3:30 pm 
Perch

I have the swede-bore 8" auger with drill attachment. I used it all last year and it rocks...one of the best purchases I ever made. Hooked up to my Milwaukee 18v I got 19 holes in 10" of ice. I sold my power auger and NEVER regretted it. You will love it if you have a half decent drill with lots of torque to spin it.

banner ad
PostPosted: Sat Dec 14, 2013 4:04 pm 
Walleye

I just went out and tried it out on the fish pond. Using my brother in laws 18v Milwaukee hammer drill. Just using the drill setting. The drill stopped a few times partway through. Thinking overheating. I'll try my mastercraft one when I get home. Seemed good though. 2 holes through 12" ice pretty easily. Liking this so far

banner ad
PostPosted: Sat Dec 14, 2013 6:27 pm 
Perch

Sometimes mine stops also....from excessive torque protection..not overheat just keep going...no problem....don't ever use hammer setting you will ruin your auger

banner ad
PostPosted: Sun Dec 15, 2013 6:20 am 
Walleye

Actually the auger I tried was rusted to crap and was my one I use to did fence holes. Didn't wanna wreck my good ones till I knew it worked. And it drilled no problem with dull rusted rock chipped blades. I like this tool

banner ad
PostPosted: Sun Dec 15, 2013 10:43 am