banner ad

Quinte Fishing

Fishing Reports for the Bay of Quinte
It is currently Sat May 18, 2024 7:51 pm
banner ad

All times are UTC - 5 hours

PostPosted: Mon Dec 20, 2004 9:40 am 
Walleye

Any input for the above subject, seems the insurance is pretty high , around 400 per year

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 20, 2004 12:59 pm 
Walleye Master

i work in insurance.

400 a year for the risk an Insurer runs, insuring a snowmobiler, is actually quite low. Its a VERY risky 'sport'.

The insurance industry has been pushing for NO NIGHT running...this would reduce costs...but piss off all the snowmobilers...

Now with the court ruling about noise violations near private property...

Its an expensive sport. I wouldn't expect to pay much less than that for a year....

banner ad
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2004 6:54 am 
Jumbo Perch

Just insured my sled yesterday and it ran me about$480 and that is without colision!Full package runs around $540 and it has to be for the hole year? Wow 3 month of use and year of payment???........pauly :cry:

banner ad
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2004 9:54 am 
Walleye Master

the years worth of payment is to lessen your premium payments.

You only get three months (or less of use), so technically you should pay your 500 dollar premium over those three months...but the Insurance Companies are willing to split the total premium over 12 months....

Here's something to try. Take out the Insurance in October. Cancel it in March/APril, see what happends.

Pro-Rata. You will only get a couple bucks back. The majority of your premiums are earned in those three months....

You guys dont want to know that stats on snowmobiling claims....there's almost no point in insuring them, as a company will pay out close to three times what they bring in. (depending on ratio's of course...but thats pretty close)

banner ad
 Post subject: Insurance
PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2004 10:48 am 
Goby