Trailer Parks
Launches

Quinte Fishing

Fishing Reports for the Bay of Quinte
It is currently Tue Apr 16, 2024 3:51 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2019 11:25 am 
Walleye

I just bought a 16 foot aluminum boat but it needs a new battery. I have a 40lb bow mount trolling motor with it plus a bilge pump, aerator for livewell, and fish finder. I would like to just have one battery for the whole boat.

I am a complete noob when it comes to different types of batteries. I have done research on google but I thought I would check to see if anyone here could offer some insight on where to get one, what type to get and what size would be sufficient for a day on the water.

I see Canadian tire has normal batteries and then AGM batteries for quite a bit more but are they worth it? And are there better places in the Quinte/Belleville area to buy batteries?

Thanks!

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2019 11:44 am 
Walleye Catcher

you will find a ton of opinions about batteries on this forum. Everyone has their favorite. having 1 battery for everything is kinda risky unless your motor is pull start. Trolling motors will drain batteries fast if used for starting your mains.

For your trolling motor most isolate the troller from everything else on the boat. You may get interference on your fish finder if you hook it up to a troller battery. A pretty standard minimum configuration is 1 or 2 batteries for trolling motor and 1 for everything else such as big motor/FF/other electronics. If you use your troller a lot like i do, depending on the volts that it will run on, you may want more than 1 battery for that to have reserve capacity on extended use.