Trailer Parks
Launches

Quinte Fishing

Fishing Reports for the Bay of Quinte
It is currently Fri Apr 26, 2024 1:48 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2020 8:51 pm 
Baitfish

I picked up one of these at Cabello's on Monday and thinking of returning it. I am new to the bait casting world so I was told by a friend that this was a perfect starter baitcasting reel. ANy thoughts on this reel? I already have it spooled with Spider Braid so I don't want to return it unless I am sure it should be returned and I should upgrade.

ALso, for those that have replied to my Knowlton Lake posts in the past, thx so much. We now have a boat so I'm looking fwd to exploring the lake and catching some decent sized Pike and hopefully a few Lakers over the summer. From what I 've been told the Bass population in that lake is not great but there are a couple of small lakes (gullies) close by that I found that are decent for Bass.

Thx.

PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2020 9:47 pm 
Guppy

Watch all the you tube videos Lots of practice and patience your master the bait caster and love it for every penny you bought it for I have a Louis baitcaster just bought it. started off with the cheapie $50-100 baitcasters
Tight lines

banner ad
PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2020 5:04 am 
Walleye Angler

When I started I used cheap monofilament line to practice, bird nests can get expensive lol.

banner ad
PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2020 6:08 am 
Walleye

That was my first baitcaster. I loved it...never really had any issues with it, pretty simple to use and I agree, it's a great starter one.
I have a couple nicer ones now that I use more frequently but I have it still spooled up on a spare rod that I use occasionally.

I wouldn't return it. I think it's a great baitcaster for the price. You can always upgrade later.

banner ad
PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2020 7:09 am 
Walleye Wisdom

I agree...great bait caster and once you get on to using, they're awesome.