Launches

Quinte Fishing

Fishing Reports for the Bay of Quinte
It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 1:44 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Cormorants
PostPosted: Wed Aug 12, 2020 4:18 pm 
Perch

I notice an extreme increase in the cormorant population this year.
They are constantly schooling up and feeding throughout the day.
They have started to destroy the island just east of snake by ox cove.
I’ve been fishing the bay for 35 years. This is my slowest pickerel year to date.
Is the cormorants feeding, and their destruction of our islands contributing to the slower fishing?

Post subject: Re: Cormorants
PostPosted: Wed Aug 12, 2020 5:14 pm 
Walleye Catcher

I bet it is. Thank goodness the ministry has brought out a hunt for them starting this year to start depleting some of the population.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2020 6:30 am 
Walleye Wisdom

I heard on CBC a while back, there are 5 colonies in the Kingston Basin area alone. With each eating a lb of fish a day, that's a lot and has to affect the fishing let alone the eco system itself.

I'm very happy a hunt has been approved. I'm not a hunter but fingers crossed some people will help cull with an open season for them.

Out of curiosity, anyone here going to hunt them?

Cheers

PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2020 7:06 am 
Walleye Catcher

I 100% will be hunting them. I’ve lived on the BOQ my whole life. And I have literally watched islands go to rot. And watching another islands and some parts of main lands starting to be destroyed. And watching new hatchlings and bait fish being ate to almost nothing in certain areas. Anyone with a hunting license and fishing license that lives on the bay should help out with this culling.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2020 9:01 am 
Walleye