Launches

Quinte Fishing

Fishing Reports for the Bay of Quinte
It is currently Mon Jun 17, 2024 11:50 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: baitcasters
PostPosted: Tue Aug 01, 2006 1:08 pm 
Walleye Angler

anyone here who uses baitcasters have any recommendations for a baitcasting combo or setup that is not overly expensive and of good quality. flipping bar optional (I don't really need one as I'm new to it) been reading and watching "how-to" videos on baitcasters and I want to get one now. also what do you prefer, centrifugal or magnetic spool control??

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 01, 2006 2:11 pm 
Guppy

Bass Pro Shops has extreme combos for $120 here in the States. I've had two of them for a few years now with no problems (other than bird's nests).

banner ad
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 01, 2006 2:16 pm 
Walleye Angler

the birdsnest or backlash, is that just a matter of the overrun control not being set exactly?? From what I heard it happens to all baitcasters from time to time.

banner ad
 Post subject: baitcasting reels
PostPosted: Tue Aug 01, 2006 2:21 pm 
Walleye Angler

I would take your time and really look at what is out there. Please take yor time.

I would suggest that you want to maximize the amount of bearings (ideally sealed...not open....which most people will not be familiar with), and have a metal body if you want this to last for the long haul. There is a considerable amount of good product and always a limited amount of great product, with some that may not have a profile name but still be relevant depending upon your budget and how much you want to look into it.

The one factor I would suggest to determine where you buy your reel from, is where you can get service. If it is bought in the Quinte area I believe there is one local gentleman for repairs and Rockys/Aikmans for warrantys. Just some information to consider.

Regards
Don Stokes

banner ad
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 01, 2006 2:38 pm 
Walleye Angler