Quinte Fishing

Fishing Reports for the Bay of Quinte
It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 12:06 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Picton Harbor Newbie
PostPosted: Mon Nov 13, 2006 6:45 pm 
Guppy

Good Evening All,
I am an all round newbie here. New to the area, new to the site and new to Walleye fishing. I was looking to head out to Picton for a bit of fishing one night this week. Probelm is I have no idea what Im doing. 8O

I plan to fish from shore, I read someone mentioning the docks of the harbor. Are these accessible to the public? Also what bait, rigs, or lures to use?

Any help will be greatly appreciated.
thanks
Dave

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 13, 2006 7:33 pm 
Walleye Angler

The little dock next to the boat ramp in Picton Harbour may be the smallest chunk of real estate in the world [a couple-three hundred square feet] that has produced the greatest number of 10+ pound walleyes in the history of fishing! Truly, there have been TONS of walleyes caught off this dock. Or at least there used to be.

Back in the 90's, you would find ten guys standing there. It seemed to produce more fish than other places, maybe because there is a light over top of it. [Ignore the "no fishing from this dock" sign]

Unfortunately, this is no longer the case. The harbour emphatically does NOT produce like it used to. This being said, it is still the best place to fish for walleyes at night.

You could fish off the dock right next to the ramp, and you can easily access the docks on the same [south] side of the harbour heading west towards the motel at the end of the harbour. Similarly you could fish from the other side of the harbour, accessing the dock from the north. Also, guys fish from the dock in the narrows from the north side, to the north-east of the ramp.