Fishing Reports for the Bay of Quinte
It is currently Fri May 03, 2024 7:39 pm
banner ad

All times are UTC - 5 hours

banner ad
 Post subject: Waterfowl 2013
PostPosted: Wed Aug 07, 2013 3:42 pm 
Walleye

Hey guys, looking for some advise converting my tin fishing boat into a duck blind boat.

I have the paint picked already and my strategy for camouflaging it. I am looking for advice on how to put in some pop up walls or cover. Something to come above the gunnels and provide more cover.

I intended on using burlap or snow fence covered in reeves, bullrushes, cat tails and grass.

Any suggestions?

I was told using conduit or pvc piping.

Looking for portable and inexpensive.

Cheers

Post subject: Re: Waterfowl 2013
PostPosted: Wed Aug 07, 2013 4:36 pm 
Walleye Angler

As a electrician I have used PVC and conduit. I would use conduit in this case. The camo paint would adhere better, conduit connectors use screws PVC glue, conduit more ridgit at the 1/2 inch size that would work for u. Plan out your frame work ie lenghts and bends, take that with u to lowes and I believe their electric department has a electrician on staff. If need be pm and I can set aside some time to help out I have a set of benders here and it sounds interesting. Have to love a good project.
Cheers

PostPosted: Thu Aug 08, 2013 6:03 am 
Walleye Master

I used conduit as well and screwed female connectors to the boat and male connectors on the bottom of the frame. This way, I can lift the frame in and out easily. I also have a joint in the middle of the frame to fold it in half to make it easier to handle.

For painting, use lighter colors as a base. Cut bullrush, sticks and leaf patterns out of cardboard and use them as a template by laying them down and spraying darker colours over top leaving the shadowed outline. I also took real leaves and smaller sized forked branched and outlined them as well. Practice on a large piece of cardboard first to find out what you like best.