Fishing Reports for the Bay of Quinte
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 10:43 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

banner ad
 Post subject: Best broad head ?
PostPosted: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:36 pm 
Walleye Angler

Hey guys.
Just wondering what recommendations you might have for broad head choice (brands, mechanical vs fixed...)?
I have used fixed blade cutting tips with my 65 lb recurve for years, but my son is just getting started, and has a Hoyt Ignite compound that doesn't seam to like them.
I think it may be due to the speed (his seams much faster at 45lb than my old stick and string at 65+lb lol).

So, what's everyone using with these new fangled wheel bows...lol

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk - now Free

Post subject: Re: Best broad head ?
PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2014 10:16 am 
Walleye Master

I am currently shooting around 330 fps from one of them thar dang fangled wheelie bows. I've been shooting them for 25 years and tried a lot of different bows and heads. Todays bows are more finicky with broadheads flying at the higher speeds than they used to be. This is a big reason why mechanicals have become so popular. For fixed blade, I find the shorter broadheads more accurate.

Mechanicals do seem to find an edge for accuracy, but it's an inch or two in a group at 30 yards for me. Not enough to worry about for most hunting purposes with the exception of turkeys. But I do find them to be on the weak side. I can't bring myself to take them for moose or bear and only take a fixed blade for them. Simply put, nothing can go wrong with a quality fixed blade in itself. Not to say a mechanical wouldn't work, just my own lack of confidence in them for large game.