Quinte Fishing

Fishing Reports for the Bay of Quinte
It is currently Tue Apr 16, 2024 8:01 am
banner ad

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Portable battery issues
PostPosted: Sun Nov 23, 2014 8:11 pm 
Minnow

I bought two batteries for my portable Bird 385 ci. The problem is the batteries are only one year old and last less than 6 hours. As you know this is very frustrating. On the water with two batteries, now three?
Any suggestions? Are there any good batteries out there or like everything else, we get ripped off. :(

PostPosted: Wed Nov 26, 2014 9:49 am 
Walleye Catcher

Battery life usually comes down to maintenance of them when not in use. I have been using the same batteries for about 5 years now on my ice unit and have no issues at all. I have found the key is to charge them up before storage and then top them up once a month through the summer.

In the winter when you are using them be sure to charge them up after each use and store them in a warm environment.

Also, getting around 6 hrs seems a little low for that unit, but at most I'd only expect a battery to last 8 hrs in the cold.

-Lawren

Check out our blog at www.blog.radioworld.ca

PostPosted: Wed Nov 26, 2014 1:03 pm 
Walleye Catcher