HOME
Bait&Tackle
Bed&Breakfast
Boat Rentals
Campgrounds
Contact Us
Cottage Rentals
Guides/Fishing Charters
Hotels/Motels
Hunting Supplies
Ice Huts/Ice Guides
Marinas
Outfitters
QUINTE FISHING SERIES
Resorts
Tourism
Trailer Parks
Launches
 

Quinte Fishing

Fishing Reports for the Bay of Quinte
It is currently Wed Sep 19, 2018 4:07 am


All times are UTC - 5 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Linking HDS
PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2015 2:49 pm 
Offline
Walleye

Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 8:57 am
Posts: 86
Location: St. Catharines
I'm not savvy at all with all of the electronics options we have now, but I have a HDS 10 Gen 2 currently. Want to pick up either an Elite or HDS 7 to put on the dash as well so I can use the big one for sonar and the smaller one for GPS. My question is, is it as simple as hooking an ethernet cable between the two? What is the NMEA and ethernet difference? And I'm guessing those cables have nothing to do with power so I'd have to run power to the 7 as well?

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Linking HDS
PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2015 8:36 pm 
Offline
Walleye Angler

Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2010 7:14 am
Posts: 287
Just get a 6 foot ethernet cable ( Radio World about $36 ) both units need power supply if you get Gen 2 they can share a map chip.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Linking HDS
PostPosted: Fri Jun 12, 2015 8:09 am 
Offline
Walleye Catcher

Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 1:31 pm
Posts: 427
If you get an HDS then yes just use an Ethernet cable between the two. If you go Elite you will only be able to use NMEA2000 and only share waypoints and digital data. Ethernet allows sharing of sonar, structurescan, radar, charts, waypoints, GPS, digital data and probably some more stuff I am forgetting.

_________________
Radioworld 4335 Steeles Ave W, Toronto, Ontario M3N 1V7 - www.radioworld.ca

Check out our blog at www.blog.radioworld.ca


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Linking HDS
PostPosted: Fri Jun 12, 2015 11:28 am 
Offline
Walleye

Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 8:57 am
Posts: 86
Location: St. Catharines
Great, thanks, good to know, I had just assumed the elite and hds would be able to share through ethernet. I'll just stick to another HDS then.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Linking HDS
PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2016 8:47 am 
Offline
Walleye

Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 8:57 am
Posts: 86
Location: St. Catharines
OK, here's another question related to this. I'm putting an HDS at the back of my larger boat and the 20 foot ethernet cable I have is not long enough. Are there extensions available? I only need another 5 feet and would hate to have to buy the 25 footer. I had a look on Radioworld's website and did not see ethernet extensions?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Linking HDS
PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2016 5:01 pm 
Offline
Walleye Wisdom
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2002 7:41 pm
Posts: 590
Location: Kingston Ontario
I believe your best option will be to spend the $100 on the the 25 ft cable. You could go to Princess Auto and buy a cable stretcher. BATMAN


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Linking HDS
PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2016 10:27 am 
Offline
Walleye Catcher

Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 1:31 pm
Posts: 427
There are no extension cables available. You can get 6', 15', 25', or 50' lengths

_________________
Radioworld 4335 Steeles Ave W, Toronto, Ontario M3N 1V7 - www.radioworld.ca

Check out our blog at www.blog.radioworld.ca


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
banner ad


All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group